2012 Men’s Minor Singles

Congratulations to Rod Gamble in taking out this year’s Minor Singles Championship against Kevin Hoffman.Warren Phillips could have been forgiven for thinking his job of marker was going to be over in record time when Kevin bolted to a lead of 23 to 4, with Kevin appearing to have a guidance system in his bowls. As umpire, I was contemplating giving Kevin’s bowls a quick check over for tampering!

To his credit, Rod took a few deep breaths and focused on producing the bowling accuracy that we have come to expect from him, taking out the final with 31 to 25.
The full draw can be seen here.

Hits: 55

One Reply to “2012 Men’s Minor Singles”

  1. Mal Post author

    Four Round 1 and two Round 2 matches were played today with the following results:

    Brian Joyce won on a forfeit over David Howell.
    Kevin Tuckerman 31 defeated Roy Robinson 11.
    Ian Corke 31 defeated John Leonard 21.
    Rod Gamble 31 defeated John Skidmore 13.
    Michael Schwarcz defeated David Beavis 13, and
    Aaron Barnett 31 defeated Michael Dalgairns 24.

    This last match was a thriller with some magnificant bowls being played by both players. Aaron led 25 – 24 on the 33rd end but then picked up 7 shots over the next three ends to win 31 – 24.

    The remaining six matches in Round 2 will be played next Sunday morning and the markers for those matches will be advised during the coming week.

    Finally, thanks, to Geoff Seamons, our umpire for the day and to Mathew Stubb for marking one of the matches even though he isn’t involved as a player in the competition.


Leave a Reply