Singles Finals Day 2016

A wonderful day of bowls at West Pennant Hills with the conclusion of the Bill Menzies Minor Singles and the Ken Wighton Singles.

Bowlers taking advantage of great conditions for a morning social game


The day began with 24 bowlers having a game of sets play. The atmosphere on the top green was fantastic with a lot of fun and enjoyment happening (and the occasional friendly sledge). Following this, a light lunch was served and the two games began before a bumper crowd of 30 members (more than a third of our Section).

In the Ken Wighton Singles, Steve Arnold and Michael Trimboli were the two finalists. From the start of the game, these two were very much deserving finalists, matching each other shot for shot. As any bowler will tell you, staying in a tight game like that comes down to concentration. With the scores 16-17 in favour of Michael Trimboli, Michael bowled a wrong bias to save two shots. It completely changed his game. The game continued in the same tight fashion right until the end, but Michael wasn't able to really convert in the same way he had done. Steve remained focused and his bowls continued to improve. The final score was 31-17 to Steve Arnold, making him our 2016 Ken Wighton Singles Champion.

It was wonderful to have Ken Wighton join us for the day and present the trophy to Steve.

(L-R) President David Wilson, Ken Wighton, 2016 KW Singles Champion Steve Arnold and 2016 Runner-up Michael Trimboli


In the Bill Menzies Minor Singles, Ian Corke and Mike Brown were the two finalists. Ian shot to an early and commanding lead over Mike, 11-1 after seven ends and 20-6 after eleven ends. However, Mike wasn't going to go quietly, playing some great bowls to change the length of the end and storming back into the game. Over the next nine ends, Mike took 11 shots to Ian's 3, making the scores 23-17 in Ian's favour. In the closing stages of the game, Mike got to within four shots of Ian with the score 26-22. However, Ian stormed home with two 2s and a 1 on the final end to take the game. The final score was 31-22 to Ian Corke, making him our 2016 Bill Menzies Minor Singles Champion.

President David Wilson presenting the Bill Menzies Minor Singles Trophy to 2016 Champion Ian Corke with runner-up Mike Brown


Congratulations to all our finalists.

The final of the Thorby Major Singles between Darrin Ede and Peter Eagle will be held this Wednesday 10 August 2016. Members and guests are encouraged to visit the club and support these members.

Dave Wilson reporting from the rinkside

Hits: 352

Leave a Reply